Wildeklawer u/13 – Excitement But Who Was The Best?

Kobus Blanckenberg #8 From Durbanville Primary (Photo Credit: Jorina Raath/Speedshots.co.za)

Primary school rugby is definitely not what it was five years ago with the top schools being invited to the Wildeklawe Festival each and every year. This year was no excepting and apart from one or two schools missing they were all there.

Grey College and Durbanville met in the final on the third day and both sides showed why they were in the final. Durbanville quickly established a lead early on but Grey College, as is very evident of every Grey College team stayed calm and took control of the game. Durbanville, in the end, did come back but could not score the winning points in a very exciting game. Grey College won 29-34 to regain their throne.

Outeniqua also ended unbeaten but after their draw against Durbanville (22-22) it was decided that Outeniqua will play Paarl Gim who was also unbeaten at that stage. Outeniqua showed why they are regarded as one of the top primary schools in beating Paarl Gim 33-19 on the final day.

Eikestad maybe unlucky not to play in the final also won their three games against Florida 31-12, Garsfontein 15-13 and Rustenburg 26-24.

A brilliant tournament once again. As always www.ruggas.co.za with the help a few friends selected two teams from teams attending the Wildeklawe festival. A lot of boys were selected out of position but our hands were forced as at primary schoolboy rugby level, the most talented boys are normally played in a few critical positions.

My player of the tournament could have gone to several boys but Kobus Blanckenberg got the nod.

And again please this is no official team and those that help with the selection never could all most probably be classified as old farts.

Team 1

1. E Williams (Paarl Gim), 2. A van Zyl (Outeniqua), 3. S Aggenbach (Florida), 4. H Pieterse (Grey College), 5.T Schoeman (Outeniqua), 6. Z Fortuin (Durbanville), 7. K Blanckenberg (Durbanville), 8. S Visser (Gene Louw), 9. P Aylward (Sunridge), 10. A Felix (Florida), 11. L Jansen (Worcester), 12. R De Weerdt (Eikestad), 13. SR Primo (Florida), 14. A Dada (Outeniqua), 15. T Maree (Grey College)

Team 2

1. R Roos (Jordania), 2. D Du Toit (Gene Louw), 3. D Boshoff (Rustenburg), 4. JP Nel (Rustenburg), 5. D Smal (Gene Louw), 6. J de Villiers (Florida), 7. B Heyns (Eikestad), 8. S Lourens (Newton), 9. H Pienaar (Grey College), 10. C Swart (Paarl Gim), 11. B Moropyane (Garsfontein), 12. K Jantjies (Outeniqua), 13. B Cupido (Worcester), 14. R Mdinga (Grey College), 15.  J Luiters (Florida)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *